Meaty Mighty Chilli

20171114_163513

Easy and deeply satisfying food.. perfect for the weather.

The summer has gone. I managed to get round the Athens marathon at a toddle without my knee giving up or Mr Wall Demon lunging at me, so lets have a recipe. Any veggies out there, turn away and go find Anna Jones’s veggie one. Its bloody brilliant and I make it a lot. I just fancied some meat and felt, that post marathon, it wouldnt do me any harm to have a bit for once.

The recipe here is as I made it, as usual, so adjust anything to your own tastes. I added some M&S chilli relish just because I had some. I also forgot to add cocoa powder which really does help to round off the flavour and give more depth. I reccommend a desertspoonful. It won’t taste of chocolate. Honest.

I found some long red chillies in a Greek green grocers. I have no idea what they are. I used 2 and they werent too hot. Use fresh or dried, whichever you prefer and to your own desired heat strength.

Same goes for the toms. I was using up stuff. You just need a tin of chopped toms and a bit of puree

 

1 400g tin of red kidney beans

500g of minced beef

1 large onion, chopped

2 cloves of garlic, minced

2 long red chillies, sliced finely

I thumb sized piece of ginger, grated

1 fresh tom, chopped

1 cup of passata

1 tbs of tom puree

2 tsp of chilli relish

2 cups of water

1 tsp of smoked paprika

1 tsp of ground cumin

1 tsp of ground coriander

a little evo oil

salt to season to taste

strained greek yoghurt for serving

Add a couple of tbs of evo oil to a large saute pan that has a lid. Add the garlic, chilli and ginger and saute on a low heat for a minute or so to get the aromas going. Add the onion and saute for around five minutes until transluscent.

Add the mince and turn up the heat a bit to brown off the meat. Add the tomato, passata and puree, the 2 cups of water, the relish, spices and some salt to taste. Bring to the boil, reduce heat to very low and put the lid on. Simmer for about half an hour for flavours to develop and sauce to thicken. Then add the beans and taste to check the seasoning and adjust as necessary.

Serve over rice with a good dollop of thick Greek strained yoghurt.

That’s it!

11 Comments

      1. FWIW, after doing the parmesan on duxelle on toast thing for brekkie, I had guests for dinner. They got chopped fresh veg salad, peppery mash ‘quenelles’ topped with crunchy fried onion, slow cooked vinegar marinated beef in an onion gravy, and slow roasted pork in an onion sauce. The last time they were over he’d said he liked cooked onions, so I gave them the works…

        Like

      2. Yes and no: much of it had been pepped beforehand. I used Felicity’s idea of freezing the mash and then microwaving from frozen when I wanted it, for instance. The onion sauce also froze well. Only the onions were actually made on the day. So I usually cook on weekends, even if I am planning to serve on Wednesday. (Chopped veggie salad, though, has to be fresh.)

        Like

Leave a comment