Beany nut burger

20170816_145709

Messy but pretty good and sooo virtuous. I’m a saint.

I was inspired by Anna Jones to make a veggie burger. I didnt make her one (I’m sure its brilliant, better than mine, her food is good) in the guardian as I didnt have all her ingredients so I just took the general idea and came up with this. Adapt to suit your tastes.

And for any whinging meat eaters:

I eat meat. I love meat burgers but veggie burgers are great too. No, they dont taste anything like a meat burger and have a different texture. So what? I think it’s a good idea to cut back on meat consumption. I keep it as a treat. I think that’s how it should be, in the main.

I used stuff I had in my cupboard and fridge, recipes are for messing with… theyre not sacred. Black eye peas would work here too.

 

250g cooked borlotti beans

4 Tbs oat

2 Tbs crushed flaxseed

a good handful each of walnuts, hazelnuts and sunflower seeds whizzed in a food mixer until well ground but still some crunchy bits.

1/2 small tin of sweet corn (optional)

juice 1/2 lime

glug of EVO oil

1/2 tsp smoked paprika

1/4 tsp cumin

2 good pinches of oregano

a handful of chopped flatleaf parsley (or fresh coriander)

a dash or 2 of hot sauce.

 

Mash the beans well. Mix in all the ingredients and use your hands to combine everything thoroughly just as you would with a meat mixture. Leave mixture in the fridge covered for a couple of hours to allow the oats and flax to absorb moisture from the beans and other ingredients.

form into burger sized patties and shallow fry, bake or grill.

I served this on a mini baguette with shredded lettuce, sliced tomato, sliced jalepenos, mayo, mustard and brown sauce. This needs a napkin!

You can also make these into little rissoles and serve with a salad if you really want to virtue signal.

 

12 Comments

  1. Looks and sounds very good, I am sadly anaphylactic and will never be able to enjoy such wonders as this…or pecan pie!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Sorry to hear this, Int! Because kiz has now bought me twice over. Damn it.

    Kiz, you have that certain something…. like good recipes. I am yours. Well, I am at least going to try this. That is pretty close.

    Although I am quite easy to get along with otherwise (he says, lying through his teeth). Yeah, hell, your food is great. I just had to say that. Loudly.

    šŸ˜‰

    Like

    Reply

  3. Looks yum ( as does the salmon dish) . Having just got back from a place where the only vegetarian dishes they had consisted of great slabs of cheese on either pastry or bread – lovely but a bit much every day…., it is nice to see some intelligent alternatives!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

      1. Suspect it may not come to anything, but honestly no idea really. The Beau has a tendency to fix on something a bit, but then when his focus changes he gets fixed on the new thing, so no info at the moment. How are the fires doing?

        Like

  4. Oh the fires are doing great…seriously, the one nearest here is 2x the size of the Province of Prince Edward Island, bigger than most of the Lower Mainland of BC.
    It’s still the middle of the season, but while temps are cooler today, lightning storms and thunder in today’s forecast.
    Terrible fires in Portugal and Greece too I see, what a summer!

    Too bad you’re not coming this way, but that may change again šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

